PDA

View Full Version : New to modding

det
08-01-2005, 02:48 AM
Hey guys. I am totally new to case modding but I bought myself a dremel to motivate me. I have about 4 old cases in my garage to practice on. I was wondering how you get something traced onto the case for dremel use. Do you draw something exactly right onto the case or do you use paper to trace it onto it. Either way I dont know. :?

crazybillybob
08-01-2005, 10:09 AM
I've done the Trace the outline trick. It works butt the paper likes to move when tracing. I've also tried Tapeing the pic to the case with masking tape (did a few windows like this when I started). Now I love spray glue, for masks I use the light duty stuff (it comes off easier), and I don't recommend this if your not going to paint the case cause it takes a bit of light sanding to clean the glue off completely. You take your pic and spray a thin coat of spray glue onto it (follow the directions about drying time) then when it's dry enough line it sick it on and cut on the lines, the paper will not move on you. If you have the cases try a few ways each one of us is more comfortable with diffrent methods.

If your not going to repaint or are just etching into plex, tape the paper or draw the out line ...Or go to a sign shop and have them cut the image out of paint mask (I haven't tried this but it should work cause all you really need is lines to follow) cause it peels off clean.

Good luck, welcome to modding!

Crazybillybob

richmandudeus
08-01-2005, 10:25 AM
what i did was draw my design on some thin cardboard like a folder or something the cut it out...
placed the folder with the cut out on the case and used a pencil.
followed the design with the dremel and sanded for touch ups.
i suggest practicing a large star and a little star or a large moon and little moon.
the dremel is tricky cause you need a verry steady hand just to get it the way you want it and its not easy when it comes to small or tight corners.

Practice makes perfect.