PDA

View Full Version : case cooling

quaker
08-06-2005, 07:24 PM
Hi, im new to this whole case modding thing but im interested since My computer needs an overhaul anyway. I have recently gotten great upgrades but, come summer, not only did my good card burn out (ati x800) but so did my POS backup (I dont even know the company just made sure it was compatible). Because of these problems I have with heat (I nearly burnt out my CPU during a marathon session), I;d like to get started on case modding. And my first area of interest is cooling. What are my options? I'd prefer powerful noisy cooling to quiet but less functional cooling. I've looked around on various sites, and I see lots of solutions ranging from 20 to 1000 dollars, so id like to keep it low. I came to these forums because, having seen the quality of the work done on the cases, I though you guys might as well know a thing or two about cooling systems.

edit: until these burns started happening, the duct tape + ac solution was it, but that is no longer an option :/

sXenoG
08-06-2005, 08:10 PM
If youre willing to pay a little over 200$ someone correct me if im wrong on that amount. Go with watercooling. Better performance then air and man o man does it look alot cooler. There are several liquids u can replace the water witht hat cannot harm ur electronics but if it leaks it causes a white residue. As far as I kno watercooling if done properly and tested well its 100% safe.

I believe the tdx waterblock from dangerden is top notch again someone correct me if im wrong. Then theres tons of resivoires<sp you can choose from and it seems to me that there are 2 pumps that are consistently being used.

DC:http://www.dangerdenstore.com/product.php?productid=36&cat=23&page=1
AC:http://www.dangerdenstore.com/home.php?cat=26 (this 1 im not sure what people are using its 1 of those tho)

I myself am planning to go to watercooling in several months and it seems highly reccomended by some communities

quaker