PDA

View Full Version : How far can cables run?

Rankenphile
08-16-2005, 05:38 PM
This is probably a silly question, but I've never built a computer from scratch before. I am planning on a pretty wild design, witht he computer being built into the base of the computer desk.

One thing I want to do is include at least a 2x USB2 + Mem Card reader as well as a DVD+RW drive built into the desk itself, which will be at least 12-18 inches from the motherboard itself. Ideally, I'd like to have the video out port, mouse and keyboard ports and probably the speaker, headphone and mic jacks all on the desk itself, and probably a fan-controller card on there as well. I'm okay at fabrication and have some skilled friends helping with this ambitious build, but I wonder how easy it would be to get cables that run far enough from the MB to the surface of the desk (12-18 inches, again), how available it would be to find such cables, and at what distance I would start noticing loss of quality.

Any help would be very much appreciated, and forgive me if this is foolish.

[DGN]Nexus
08-16-2005, 05:55 PM
you would more than likely have to get extensions because I don't think your cables can come directly out of your case and be long enough, so extensions would probably be the only way to go.

slaveofconvention
08-16-2005, 06:17 PM
You can get IDE cables (for the DVD Writer) up to 90cm long, so that shouldn't be a problem. As for USB, it performs best when there is less than 2 meters between the USB controller chip and the device itself - the longer you make your internal connections, the more likely you are to have problems if you're using standard 6 foot USB cables to connect things up.

As for being foolish - surely the real fool would be the one who wasn't willing to ask when he didn't know....

Rankenphile
08-16-2005, 06:34 PM