PDA

View Full Version : cooling without overkill

amberella
08-21-2005, 08:37 PM
welcome to my first post here - be gentle. :p

i have my default (actually works) comp and 5 others in various states of disarray about my apartment. instead of moving them all (i'm moving to nyc in oct) i figured i'd pull the decent parts into one box and use it purely as a rather low-traffic server. of course, as i started doing this i got the hankering to replace my big, old clunky boxes with a new micro case and trick it out just a little for fun. i've never built a system from scratch before, though, and i need a little guidance.

basically, i'm wondering exactly how much cooling is ENOUGH cooling for my needs. i don't plan on having a video card for gaming or constantly streaming off the cd-rom or anything particularly intensive (i'm certainly not overclocking anything), but i do plan on leaving the system on 24-7. i bought my microATX case today, 3 hrs before one of my friends said "do not use a micro case for running a server... or if you do, put in ridiculous air flow" lol. so now i'm a little worried. i know i have space to add more fans, but as of right now the only ones i was planning on are an 80mm intake on the front and 80mm outflow on the back. there's also the fan on the CPU heatsink, obviously.

does that sound like enough?

thanks for your insights, and i plan on posting pics as i go, as i'm pretty artsy and i think i've got a pretty good idea for the theme. ;) well, that and because there's a sorry lack of female representation on these forums!

here's what i'm putting in the box:
mATX sempron 2800+ mobo
CD-R
3.5" Floppy & 8-1 Card Reader
2 HDDs
5.25" Fan/Light controller
230W mATX PSU

amberella

Aero
08-21-2005, 10:09 PM
hmmm... Well, let me first say Welcome. Also I fully support the "others in various states of disarray" approach to computers :p.