PDA

View Full Version : LED help

legoman786
08-21-2005, 11:40 PM
i have this really cool looking red LED which i wanna put into my dell for a really cool light effect... but, i do not know how to even hook up the darn thing... i hooked it straight up to a button cell battery, nothing... HELP!!

weirdguy
08-22-2005, 01:17 AM
What color is it? different LEDS use diffrent voltages.

snefan
08-22-2005, 04:58 AM
i have this really cool looking red LED which i wanna put into my dell for a really cool light effect... but, i do not know how to even hook up the darn thing... i hooked it straight up to a button cell battery, nothing... HELP!!i think that you missed that part :p

anyways, red LEDs use about 1,5V so you need a resistor to get the spare Voltage away

you could hook it up in a molex you aint using for any part of your comp, but dont know how exactly, i've never done it before either :redface:

btw are you familiar with Ohm's Law?

Aero
08-22-2005, 07:13 AM
http://metku.net/index.html?sect=view&n=1&path=mods/ledcalc/index_eng

^^ thats an "LED Calculator" enter in the voltage of the LED, voltage of power source (12 volts), and the current in mA. click "calculate"

legoman786
08-22-2005, 09:33 AM
i dont know how much power the LED draws, and whats the Voltage Drop Across? how do i calculate how much mA -- I'm confused, I think I shouldnt even do this without knowing more about LEDs, sorry I took your time. Thanx anyway

Malatory
08-22-2005, 09:42 AM
Oh you want to know about LED's

Points you to http://linear1.org/
Read though the LED center and then hit his LED Wiz..

But in a nut shell
typical LED draw from 1.5V to 3.7 depending on what type they are. And you would use that for the Voltage Drop (as it is taking that much power from the source)

also most LED I have come across use 20mA (There are some that use 10 or more) But again that is a good place to start.