PDA

View Full Version : Failure to yield to an emergency vehicle. (First ticket)

sXenoG
08-29-2005, 07:33 PM
I would just like advice as to what I should do.

Scenario:
Its a four way intersection. I was first at a red light, there was an officer who was in the apposing traffic first in line to make a left turn. The vehicle I failed to yield to was perpendicular to me heading toards me (it was a fire truck).

What happened:
I am a fairly new driver and just got my first ticket next month I will have been driving for a year and will be 17 next month as well. I am still fairly intimidated by cops as im not fully comfortable behind the wheel as of yet. So I was at a red light the light turn green and i looked at the officer who would be in front of me to the left i entered the intersection i looked to the right and the instant I looked there was a fire truck to my left, If i had stopped at that moment I would have been impeding the fire truck so i accelerated to get through the intersection. Immediatle i pulled ot the right in attempt to yield to the emergency vehicle. Next thing I kno after im allready stopped the officer who was in apposing traffic was behind me. He hadnt even begun to make a u turn b4 I had yielded but he wrote me a ticket for failure to yield to an emergency vehicle. I do admit that I was in the wrong for not check both left and right b4 entering the intersection, but it was not my intention at all to not yield to an emergency vehicle. I did have my music on so i did not hear the siren but feel that should not be even considered since the deaf are perfectly legal to drive. There was notthing obstructing my vision at all it was just hat i looked at the officer b4 entering the intersection.

Question: