PDA

View Full Version : New 1st time Rig: No peripherals

ShadowSniper
12-12-2007, 12:23 AM
I just got the last of the parts for my brand new gaming rig and spent a few hours hooking everything up. The only problem is, not one of the peripherals (keyboard, mouse, monitor) are getting any signal even though everything in the case seems to be working fine. (Fans work, display on the motherboard shows "CPU INIT", cd trays come out and go back fine)

Seeing as how this is my first time putting together a computer I really have no idea what is wrong. A little assistance?

Specs:
2 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 500GB SATA Hard Drive

1 x Thermaltake ToughPower 1200-Watt ATX Power Supply

1 x EVGA GeForce 8500 GT 256MB DDR2 Video Card

1 x Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Processor - 2.40GHz

1 x ASUS Striker Extreme LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Motherboard

1 x ZALMAN CNPS 9700 NT 110mm 2 Ball Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler

2 x LITE-ON Black SATA DVD Burner with LightScribe

4 x OCZ 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Desktop Memory

SgtM
12-12-2007, 12:31 AM
Make sure the video card is seated properly and has power to it (if requried). I'm notorious for this.. Make sure the power plug on the monitor is seated. Lastly, make sure you're using a ps2 keyboard and mouse. Some motherboards don't like to use USB devices out of the box.

NightrainSrt4
12-12-2007, 12:37 AM
I second trying a ps2 mouse and keyboard out of the box. Had this issue with a couple pc's.

But damn...1200watt psu for that rig? You def don't have to worry about upgrading parts and if your psu will take it.

ShadowSniper
12-12-2007, 12:37 AM
I just double checked all connections, all looks good. I'm assuming the video card has power due to the cooling fan on it working, monitor still isn't working. But, good news is that the ps2 keyboard and mouse I plugged in are working.

Edit: Yeah, 1200watts is much for it now but I plan on getting a good SLI setup sometime next year and I wanted to be ready.