PDA

View Full Version : Case noise when iTunes is open.

dcleas
12-15-2007, 07:38 PM
I am a newbie to Fix IT Shop but here it goes.

I built my machine from the ground up. I just recently in the past few versions of iTunes have come across this problem. I up iTunes, with or without music imported and I get this high pitch sound from my case. I at first thought it was my hard drive but was proven wrong when I replaced it replaced. Is there a utility I can us to figure out whats going on with it or am I just going to have to put my ear in my case and figure out what piece of hardware is not working right. Please let me know guys. Thanks.

Scotty
12-15-2007, 08:22 PM
Welcome to TBCS :D

Sounds like a very strange problem, my iTunes is fine.

Usually a very high pitched sound/whining is caused by heavy load on components i.e. CPU and Graphics. Open up the task manager and see if CPU usage goes up. If not download ATi Tool and OCCT and run the test in OCCT and show the 3D preview in Ati Tool, if you hear the same noise whilst running either test then thats probably what it is.

OCCT also tests RAM, that might also make a noise. Although it could be the NB or even SB

What are the system specs?

It just seems like a really odd problem.

dcleas
12-15-2007, 08:59 PM
Well I seem to be prone to odd problems when it comes to computers. I just normally know how to fix them.

When I opened the iTunes the CPU usage shot way up for about 5 seconds, and just as quickly died to 0%.

I didn't hear the same sound with either program or them together. But the CPU was making the sound. I know that for sure. This time it wasn't as high pitched.

I'm not running anything special. I have been meaning to upgrade, just haven't had the money.

Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2
Elite Group Board - nForce3-A :down:
1.80 gigahertz AMD Sempron :down:
160 GB Seagate SATA
1.5 Gigs RAM
RADEON 9550

Scotty
12-15-2007, 09:04 PM
Hmm, extremely strange.