PDA

View Full Version : RAID Question

Indybird
01-29-2008, 06:39 PM
Say I install two identical hard drives and I want to put them in a RAID setup. Which setup increases the performance the most? Secondly, is there any RAID setup that involves two identical drives being recognized as one larger drive?

Thanks,
Indybird

.Maleficus.
01-29-2008, 06:48 PM
http://www.thebestcasescenario.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12513

Indybird
01-29-2008, 06:52 PM
Well, that answers my first, but not my second. Thanks though. +rep

-Indybird

jdbnsn
01-29-2008, 07:19 PM
I think that site answers you second question too, I haven't looked at it in a while but I'm pretty sure they describe every RAID config, what it does, and how it works. But I couldn't personally answer your question, I'm a RAID noob.

I'm going to move this thread down to the hard drive section, it seems more suited there.

chaksq
01-29-2008, 07:25 PM
is there any RAID setup that involves two identical drives being recognized as one larger drive?

Thanks,
IndybirdActually there are types of RAID that involve 2 or more drives being grouped together and recognized as one. This is RAID 0 which actually was explained on that linked site, just kinda not directly. This I believe is one of the most common RAID setups for home users, although if you lose one of the drives all your data is gone.

Indybird
01-29-2008, 07:38 PM
I think that site answers you second question too, I haven't looked at it in a while but I'm pretty sure they describe every RAID config, what it does, and how it works. But I couldn't personally answer your question, I'm a RAID noob.

I'm going to move this thread down to the hard drive section, it seems more suited there.
Thanks but I can't find it.