PDA

View Full Version : Starting from scratch: static troubles?

tohito
10-08-2005, 02:46 PM
I'm completely new to the case modding community, and have never modded a case before. The most I have done is taken my computer apart, spread the pieces out on the floor and hooked them back up. Behold, the Caseless Computer!
But seriously, I am about to start building a new computer, and I want to put it in a case that screams, "I am not from Dell!" I am thinking about starting from the ground up and constructing my own case from scratch. Has anyone here ever done this? What I am really concerned about is static electricity. One of my ideas was to mount all of my components inside a plastic storage container, but then I realized the container might produce enough static electricity to damage my components. Does anyone here know anything about plastic cases, and if they are acceptable? I would appreciate any information I could get about this.

montmorency
10-20-2005, 04:51 PM
how about building a small metal frame to put inside the plastic thimg.

i too was plannin g to build a case from scratch but im a little low on funds.
i was planning to get some angled alumiun and build a frame from that. it would be lightweight and easy to build. i was then gonna put black or morror plex, but now im not so sure. feel free to use those ideas if you want, as now i think im gong to do something different.

good luck. post some pics when you start.

slaveofconvention
10-22-2005, 10:04 AM