PDA

View Full Version : What types of paint should I try?

Womp
10-10-2005, 11:45 PM
Hey all, im completely new at modding and was looking to start off with some baby steps. I have a laptop, it's a brushed aluminum (Spelling?) and im wanting to start off with painting something onto it to spice it up a little. I dont have any fancy airbrush tools, but I was looking around and I have some model paint that I used to paint some Warhammer figures. Im just wondering if I did it right the paint would mesh with the laptop and not look like crap... Im aware that it wont look the best but hey.. gotta work with what you got.. Any suggeestions?

crazybillybob
10-11-2005, 07:36 AM
Before you start painting you'll want to hit the area that's going to be painted with some 220 grit sandpaper. Just a lite little sanding to give the paint someting to holdon too. Also mask evrything you don't want painted off with painters tape and 2-3 layers of paper (newspaper or paper grocery sacks work well for this) then give the area your going to paint 2 coats of primer (I'd use white as it will help your colors be more vivid). Once the primers dry you can either go to town painting or wet sand the primer with 1000Grit (lightly you just want the high spot knocked down) This will make the final paint job look smoother than if you don't.
Because it's a laptop once you've finished painting and the paint has dried, apply 5-6 coats of clear coat over the paint. here's a tip every 2 coats wetsand with 2000grit sandpaper (lightky you just want to knock the high spot down), this will help get rid of the oramge peel look in the clear. Once all the clear is on buff with polish and hand glaze for that SWEEEEEt Sweet Shine.

CrazyBillybob

Bum
10-11-2005, 01:13 PM