PDA

View Full Version : Liven up the other side of my case

Caboose12
10-15-2005, 10:46 PM
I am new to actual case modding, before i would put better fans and junk in, a lot like the noobs out there but I want to become an eventual elite here :) high hopes yes?

I really want to do something to the boring side of my case, what i was thinking is have a facehugger from the alien movies on it, but ideally have it "under the case's skin." My question is what would I use to put my idea on the case? I was thinking about buying the model kit and cutting off the bottoms, making them flat and gluing it on, but I know that is a bad idea.

Clay? Bad idea too right?

Xato
10-15-2005, 10:54 PM
I wouldnt go with the clay if you have easy access to a model which has the exact dimensions you are after.
From what you've said, my idea would be to get the model and yes, shave some of the bottom of it off so it fits closer to the dise of your case. But what i see from your 'under the cases skin' idea is for a skin like substance to cover that whole panel and the facehugger. This 'skin' could then be shrunk, or sucked in, to show the details of the face hugger underneath.

Ofcourse this is just my take on the 'under the skin' idea.
If you didnt want to go with the skin, i'd just suggest using the model kit, and using bondo to blend, as it will give that organic texture when worked correctly (eg. alien mouse mod)

Caboose12
10-15-2005, 11:10 PM
cool, thanks for the quick reply.

Now... I guess i have to hunt for a facehugger model that would fit around one side of a case and attach... somewhat to the other-side if you know what I mean.

If i had a scanner, I could scan my general idea that I have written down on paper. Maybe a quick photoshop sketch.

Xato
10-15-2005, 11:12 PM
Yeh, the backbone to any mod is planning, make sure you know what ur gonna do before you do it. Sketches, notes, test mods all help.

And the quick reply was just luck =P

Caboose12
10-15-2005, 11:43 PM