PDA

View Full Version : Aperture Fan Cover

renaissance_modder
10-17-2005, 01:57 PM
Hello, long time lurker, first time poster. I'm relatively new to the modding scene, been lurking around forums like this one for a long time, but never done anything more severe than case painting. I must say that the work done by the members of this site is some of the best I've ever scene and I figure if anyone can help me become fully immersed in the modding scene it'll be this group. Okay enough with the brown nosing on to my question.

I would like to create an aperture style fan cover for the side panel of my case.

http://www.scphoto.com/assets/images/aperture.gif

I would like for it to open whenever the case is powered up and close again when it is powered off. Does anyone have any recommendations for materials to use to build something like this? How would you recommend automating it? Lastly does any one know where I might be able to find a diagram of the inner workings of an aperture? (I did a google search but couldn't find any images or docs that detail how they work the way the do.)

I appreciate any assitance anyone can offer thanks.

slaveofconvention
10-22-2005, 10:14 AM
Quite a challenge you've set yourself. I can't answer all of your questions, but I can give you some pointers.

How to open and close it - probably the best option will be to use a small servo motor similar to the ones used to control the steering on radio controlled cars.