PDA

View Full Version : Probs. with new comp.

[TC]Snarf
10-25-2005, 02:58 PM
This thread doesn't have really anything to do with modding, although the case my new comp has will be modded in the future...hopefully NEAR future. IM a somewhat amatuer computer builder and have a few bugs that I'm hoping some of you may know how to fix.

1. I have 2 hard drives: an IDE Maxter 40 gig, and a SATA 3 g/s Western digital 120 gig. I can't get my comp to read my western digital at all. I can't locate it anywhere on the computer exception for bios. Before I got all my drivers from my motherboard driver cd installed, i did see the sata 120 as a hot-swap device such as a jump drive, but now it doesnt even appear there. Any idea on how to fix this, please reply. Im in desperate need of help especially since im unfimiliar with sata.

2. For some reason, my Video controller (VGA Compatible) driver will not install. When i try i get this error: "The NVIDIA Setup program could not locate any drivers that are compatible with your current hardware. Setup will now exit."

Sorry this is more of tech support rather than mod support, but i just need help, so if you have any off the top of your head, could you please share? thnx in advance.

Zeus
10-25-2005, 03:45 PM
what kind of video card do you have?

[TC]Snarf
10-26-2005, 02:06 AM
actually I fixed my graphics card problem, but thanx anyways zues. I had a wrong driver on the driver cd...:S. But I absolutely cannot get my sata to work, thats my only prob right now, any input on that would be greatly appreciated. It just reads as a hot swap drive, but its no where to be found except in the safely remove app. ty

snefan
10-26-2005, 09:40 AM
you have to define the IDE as master or slave.

http://www.64bits.se/guider/pcbyggarskola/sata.jpg

see the 2x4 pins on the lower hd with a black thing connecting 2 pins? you'll have to do the same with your. look on the drive to see what pins that should be shorted for desired funcion.

richmandudeus