PDA

View Full Version : How hard would it be to add a top fan hole to this case?

notquitedead
10-31-2005, 10:01 PM
Hi, I want to build my own case from scratch eventually but for now I want a cheap, regular case. The Antec P180 looks nice but cheaper is better. I was thinking about getting a CM Centurion 5 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811119068) and just adding a top fan to it.

I have no experience with modding cases or working with metal, so how hard would it be to cut the hole, drill holes for the screws, etc.? What tools would I need?

I can probably borrow tools from other people, but if I do have to buy something I'll just get the P180.

Shroomie
10-31-2005, 10:09 PM
I'm pretty new at this myself, so I don't know how much help I'll be. However, I think you'd be okay if it's aluminum or thin steel, if you borrow a Dremel from a friend or get one at the hardware store (mid-range is fine.)

Malatory
11-01-2005, 12:02 AM
what size hole??

what you need is some would under the metal for support, a Hole saw the size you want (that is rated for metal cutting), and a drill. Plus you would want to put some tape over the area your cutting as well to keep the finish.

slaveofconvention
11-01-2005, 01:15 AM
The holesaw is definitely the way to go if you can, but just in case you can't borrow one, alternatively, you could go with a jigsaw - again, mask it off as Malatory said, but slightly undercut it and file it out to the perfect size. As for the screw holes, you REALLY should use a centrepunch to make small dents before you drill - but other than that it's perfectly do-able. It's actually one of the easiest mods TO do and a good start into the game as it'll teach you a little about cutting and drilling cases so when (note - not IF, WHEN lol - you WILL catch the bug and end up doing some more) you decide to do something else, you'll have a little experience and knowledge to build on.