PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Here!

Overconfidence
11-20-2005, 12:12 AM
Hey everyone, I'm new to these forums but not too new to case modding. To start off, I'll show a picture of my current case before I get on to more.. pressing matters ;) .

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v644/Overconfidence/comp3.jpg

That's my beast, All custom (including the thermometer on the front, haha), made from a crappy 30 dollar case (including power supply!!). I'm currently building up a totally custom watercooling system (home-made), and am planning on making a mini-case to go under my current case to fit the pump/radiator inside of.

This is where it gets tricky.

I'm also looking at upgrading my entire system some time in the near future, and that will require more than my zero dollar PSU. Now, I'm looking into the Antec p150, a nice, quiet case that includes a 430W HE PSU.

http://www.antec.com/images/160/P150_q.jpg

I'd like to mod the case, but keep it's silencing characteristics. This means leaving the sound deadening panels intact, unless you guys have any bright ideas 8) .

Barring opening up the side of it, what mods can I do? I was thinking of doing a white/red theme (the case is white)... that would mean red CCFLS inside my mini-case, shining out through the heatercore (would make an awesome looking pattern), a pair of UV CCFLS on the top and bottom of side panel of the main case, with a design done in red UV paint between them, perhaps have a shroud around the UV lights so that their light only shine on the design. Also could look at making a window in place of a pair of front drive bays with some red LEDs behind, shining onto an etched design.

Those are just a few of my ideas, does anyone have any more good ones? Most mods revolve around a side window, so I'd like to see if anyone has something other than that.