PDA

View Full Version : question about linux

Liquid_Scope_99
09-19-2008, 11:36 PM
Hello all i have a few friends that just wont buy knew computers lol.

Well they asked since that 98 and mi is not supported and there mostly like 350mgz processors and 128 ram.
What version of linux whould be good for a comp like that thanks in advance

luciusad2004
09-19-2008, 11:44 PM
I'm no expert but from what I've head, Gentoo and Arch both run pretty well on lower end hardware. You could probably pair one of those distributions w/ a lightweight window manager like, fluxbox. But like I said, I'm not expert, lets see what the real experts say in a few posts.

aintnothang
09-20-2008, 12:49 AM
DamnSmallLinux!

Liquid_Scope_99
09-20-2008, 02:40 AM
hey thanks guys is this where i ge it jsut checking lol www.damnsmalllinux.org thanks again hopefully i can learn it price is right though

xmastree
09-20-2008, 06:06 AM
I found puppy linux slightly better than dsl.

http://www.puppylinux.org/

XcOM
09-20-2008, 01:53 PM
any distro would do really, not select one with the least ammount of bloat, xubuntu is good for lower end machines with good hardware support,

fedora is quote good but you really need to fight to install any thiung thats no open

Liquid_Scope_99
09-20-2008, 11:33 PM
thanks guys may try couple diffrent ones hopefully that is semi easy lol thanks again

Xpirate
09-22-2008, 09:40 AM
I agree with XcOM. Xubuntu is good for low end machines. I used Red Hat 6.2 on some really, really old hardware (Pentium 133 with 32 MB) and it worked just fine. I'm not sure if you can still find pre-Fedora Red Hat 6.2 on the web anymore.

XcOM
09-22-2008, 12:55 PM
i have them on CD, fedora core 2!

Liquid_Scope_99
09-22-2008, 07:07 PM