PDA

View Full Version : Ram

Sh0ck
12-17-2005, 05:11 AM
Im a real noob to all this stuff, but I was wondering if you can put one stick of 1gig ram and two sticks of 256mb in a mobo? So I would have a 1.5gigs. I have 4 ram slots, 2 slots each have a different color.

Xato
12-17-2005, 10:04 AM
Ya, its possible. But a lot of the time RAM sticks arent compatable with eachother. I think they may need to be the same frequency sticks (400mhz, 500 etc.) Confirmation anyone?

As far as the slots being different colours, that is because you RAM slots run on two different channels. Generally if you have two sticks of RAM, you'd want them to run on different channels, as it would allow them to be accessed faster.

DeathCrush
12-17-2005, 12:16 PM
yea, you're right Xato. basically if you mix 400mhz with 333mhz RAM, it'll only run at 333mhz, however it will still run. what you do want to look out for is if you're mixing ECC ram with non-ECC ram. some motherboards can handle it while others can't (i know people who have both had problems and not had problems with doing that, so it's pretty much just luck of the draw to put it short)

you should be safe though Sh0ck. if at all possible, just make sure that you're not mixing ECC and non-ECC ram together and you should be safe for the most part.

Malatory
12-17-2005, 02:17 PM
The problem comes if your running DDR memory it will not be working at the double Rate.

Need to matched sticks for that to kick in.

as stated aboce it should work but you will be running at the slowest ram speed and also you will want to make sure the 2 256K sticks are in matched slots (typical setups are 1-3 & 0-2)

Sh0ck
12-17-2005, 05:30 PM
Here's the spec of my two 256mb sticks which came inside this comp:

Memory Module Properties
Module Name Infineon 64T32000HU5A
Serial Number 01006C10h
Manufacture Date Week 24 / 2005
Module Type Unbuffered
Memory Type DDR2 SDRAM
Memory Speed DDR2-400 (200 MHz)
Module Width 64 bit
Module Voltage SSTL 1.8