PDA

View Full Version : Failure on important Hard Drive

Indybird
05-11-2009, 08:30 PM
Earlier today I started experiencing problems with my storage hard drive. At first file access would stutter, stopping for 5 or so seconds at a time about every 30 seconds. Then it got worse, I couldn't access many of my files and folders.

At this point I tried to run windows disk check. After about 5 minutes of checking the disk check simply displays "1024" and the computer locks up. After restarting, I go to back up what files I can access. It will copy the files for about 5 minutes then the hard drive will disconnect and disappear from windows completely. I can restart the hard drive no problem, but the same thing will happen.

Now here's where I've been foolish...I've been using this hard drive for about 5 years now and haven't backed up anything. I have a lot of important stuff on this hard drive, so it is very important to either get the data back or the hard drive working.

I have already done some research about hard drive recovery, but all of the programs I've tried can't see my hard drive for some reason. I'm coming to you guys as a last resort before taking this drive to get professionally restored.

I would really appreciate any help you guys can offer (i.e. what the problem is, how to fix it, how to recover my files, etc...).

Thanks,
Indybird

crenn
05-11-2009, 09:28 PM
Time to seal the drive and get some dry ice...

Indybird
05-11-2009, 10:07 PM
Time to seal the drive and get some dry ice...

What is that for?

Thanks,
Indybird

AMD Killa
05-13-2009, 04:17 PM
I think he's messing with you a bit there ;)

If it keeps disconnecting from windows, theres no hope of a commercial product being able to access it.

You would be better off sending it straight to the professional restorers without testing it yourself anymore, as the more you try to use it, the more damage you could be doing.

crenn
05-13-2009, 10:17 PM
I think he's messing with you a bit there ;)