PDA

View Full Version : In Reference to Robotics

fishies
04-04-2005, 02:00 PM
My current project is screaming for a robotic arm. I've looked into a few kits, and generally, the cost is more than the case, with my addtional arts (fans, lights, aint, etc.) and since my wife screams when I buy stuff like that, I thought I'd trick her and build one myself, since she won't scream if I'm buying the materials to make one from scratch. The logic of wives astound me sometimes.

before I digress any further, I should ask my question.
Since I'm brand new at robotics (and I mean new user smell new) I was wondering if anyone had experience in the field, and would be able to point me in the right direction for resources (books, accurate web inf, etc.) I guess what I am looking for is a general schematic/blueprint that I can tweak.

Any help in this area would be most appreciated. Thanks in advance.

ZeD
04-04-2005, 02:21 PM
well do you want an actual romotic arm or do you just want the looks? if the latter you can get a model kit and save a ton of money, I know they used to sell the t2 arm in kit form for not much money and if painted right it could come out looking pretty real.

fishies
04-04-2005, 02:42 PM
well do you want an actual romotic arm or do you just want the looks? if the latter you can get a model kit and save a ton of money, I know they used to sell the t2 arm in kit form for not much money and if painted right it could come out looking pretty real.

No I want serv controlled movement.

Being a once avid R/C Car builder/racer, I am aware of servo-controlled movement. I understand the axis points (where movement is achieved) and I understand stepper motors are used for movement via the servos, however, I really don't want to use a remote control for the movement. Preset points of movement based on voice command is ideally what I am looking to do. I found some components, but a guide would be nice.

Frakk
04-04-2005, 04:35 PM