PDA

View Full Version : Intel Celeron 933mhz overlocking help!

vectran
02-14-2006, 11:12 PM
Hi, I am a beginner to overclocking and I heard that some CPU's are better to overclock than others. I have a Celeron 933mhz CPU and I am wondering how much I can get out of it without anything blowing up or fancy cooling.

Thanks!

Omega
03-04-2006, 09:30 PM
i wouldn't push that thing too far over 1ghz.

but then agian, i wouldn't OC it either.

crenn
03-04-2006, 09:38 PM
The max you might be able to get out of it is 1.2GHz.... but that's with better cooling and a better TIM.

tecguy
03-05-2006, 09:24 AM
Hi, I am a beginner to overclocking and I heard that some CPU's are better to overclock than others. I have a Celeron 933mhz CPU and I am wondering how much I can get out of it without anything blowing up or fancy cooling.

Thanks!

ummm what is ocing and also how far can i psu a athlon 64 3000++2.0ghz,socket939 512kb

DaveW
03-05-2006, 03:20 PM
ummm what is ocing and also how far can i psu a athlon 64 3000++2.0ghz,socket939 512kb

Whoa! Careful there buddy! Don't muck around with overclocking. Overclocking is changing either the bus speed or the multiplier in order to get a rise in the clock speed of a processor. You can also overclock your Graphics card and RAM and so forth, but i'm not much of an overclocker myself so i can't explain how. But you will need a big ass system to get the extra heat out the case, and you void your warranty the minute you overclock-and if you mess it up, there's a damn good chance you will fry your CPU, RAM, or mobo.

Not to say that's stopped anyone from spending hundreds of notes trying to get those extra few cycles out the damn chip-in fact, some people spend more on their cooling systems than the price difference to the next processor in the range!

If your CPU runs fine, don't overclock. You probably won't need to overclock that CPU right now anyway.

-Dave

Omega
03-05-2006, 03:24 PM