PDA

View Full Version : Sound Activated Drum Lights

DuroMentis
02-01-2010, 04:00 PM
Hey Guys,

So I'm looking at my acoustic set of drums, and I wanted them to have a unique feel to them as far as aesthetics go (Well, okay. Sound too XD.) So what I want to do (depending on the cost) is make some kind of sound activated switch so when I hit the bass drum it lights up the hoop holding the drum head. I'm not very good with stuff like that so if anyone has any ideas that'd be great. My original idea (not sure it'll work) is to have a drum trigger placed on the bass drum head, triggers pick up sound and convert them to a digital board which can adjust the recorded sound of that particular drum. And instead of having the triggers go to a board, wire them to some of these: http://www.frozencpu.com/products/2960/lit-09/5_Ultra_Bright_Red_EL_Cable.html?tl=g6c77s124

I'm not an electronic whiz by any means, so I don't know if it'll work like that, and triggers can get pretty expensive and im flat broke, so if it can be done without triggers that would be awesome. Any one have any ideas?

billygoat333
02-01-2010, 06:50 PM
you could wire the ground to the drum head in a kind of web and the positive to the foot pedal, so when it strikes it grounds the loop. lol IDK. im sure someone here could rig up something. could also just use a simple microphone circuit board setup.

DuroMentis
02-01-2010, 07:15 PM
Yeah I would go with a microphone, problem is that I am probably going to have to move the drum around a lot, so that means more to carry. Plus the microphone would pick up more than just the bass drum I would think. I kinda think making just the bass drum light up when it's hit and only then would be cool.

SgtM
02-01-2010, 08:26 PM