PDA

View Full Version : Industrial Theamed Case - Any Ideas?

The boy 4rm oz
03-07-2006, 02:44 AM
I want to make an industrial themed case and i just dont know how i should do it. It's my first time at modding so i dont want anything hardcore but i want it to look nice. I am going to get a basic ATX case from my locl computer store for around $25-$30. I guess I want to make sumthing that is black or silver with a kind of rusty tinge to it, i know you can get a paint that will do this but its to expensive for me. Any ideas to help me make this work? Any sugestions would be great, Thanks.

Slug Toy
03-07-2006, 03:36 AM
you know, i was going to go on a large speel about how the "industrial" design most people talk about for games really isnt a true industrial theme. i was going to list out a whole bunch of things you could do to make a case that is really down and dirty.. and ready to get the job done. but then you went and said that you areny experienced, so that cut off a lot of possibilities. if you had done some modding before, i wouldnt have held back, but i will for now.

ill tell you, its probably going ot be pretty hard getting a good industrial feel perfected. id really like to spend a good deal of time trying to explain my thoughts, but im busy enough drawing out ideas for my own mod at the moment, plus work. one thing id say is to not pay attention to a great finish for painting. bridges or buildings arent a labour of love in most cases, and painters sure dont want to spends months getting everything just right. another huge thing i would suggest is simplicity. you never see anything industrial that is over-complicated. ingenious, yes... complicated, maybe... over-complicated, NO! run with your first ideas until you are absolutely sure they wont work, and then expand if you need to. use necessity as the driving force for creativity.