PDA

View Full Version : Can you recommend a good Airbrush/Compressor for case modding?

PiNPOiNT
03-24-2006, 02:16 PM
I am new to case modding and would like to purchase a Airbrush and Compressor, Can you guys recommend a good name brand or particular type i should look out for? I am willing to spend a bit of money, but don't want to go top of the line either.

Thanks!

tybrenis
03-24-2006, 04:08 PM
Hi! Welcome to the forums!!!

I am actually writing an article on Airbrushing for my website (www.powerpackedpc.com. I'll tell you what I started with and continue to use.

First off, you will DEFINATELY want a dual action airbrush. I highly recomend the Paasche VLS Airbrush, it is very easy to learn, clean, and achieve detail with. It is compatible with any type of paint, providing that it is thinned properly.

For an air compressor, getting one with a tank is IMPERATIVE. I went through two airbrush compressors made by Paasche especially for their airbrushes before I wisened up and just got a standard one with a 2 gallon air tank. Honestly, I would recomend one with more than 2 gallons, but it will do. Different airbrushing jobs require different pressures (PSI), so you will want to buy a compressor with a regulator (or buy one seperately). I found my compressor at Pepboys for about 70 dollars, with like a 15 dollar rebate you could have sent in. It is a Coleman brand, and comes with a 25 ft hose, a regulator/pressure gauge, a built in tank, everything you need.

Good luck! We're all here to help, so feel free to ask questions!

PiNPOiNT
03-24-2006, 06:08 PM
Thanks for the excellent reply, i will take your advise and get what you recommended, i look forward to my new hobby of case modding. I am sure i will have many more questions in the future, and if everyone else is even half as helpful as you are, im sure i've come to the right place!

Thanks again!

-PiNPOiNT

PiNPOiNT
03-24-2006, 06:12 PM
btw, does this look like a good compressor that comes with the airbrush?