PDA

View Full Version : overclocking the 7950gx2

overdosedelusion
07-18-2006, 01:16 PM
i have an xfx 7950gx2 extreme:
mem: 1300MHz
core: 520MHz

i want to overclock mt graphics card, though im somewhat new to it i need a little input.

what would be a good boundary?

bare in my mind my card is cooled by the bog standard heatsink/fan, and my system relies on 6 case fans (4x120 and 2x92), none of which are over the card.

Pc specs are in my sig. V

AKA_RA
07-18-2006, 01:47 PM
im kinda curious...what are you running on your rig that is giving you less than desireable results?

overdosedelusion
07-18-2006, 02:33 PM
boredom. lol

just a willingness to learn. dont want to **** it up, but i want to explore

Slug Toy
07-18-2006, 04:49 PM
well heres a suggestion. bump the frequencies up a few MHz at a time and test it after each step (3dmark or a game). you've hit the limit when you get artifacts.

ive found as a general rule that GPU related artifacts are blotchy green and purple things all over. ram related ones tend to be lots of black and white dots popping up like static. thats just my card though... no guarantee thats what youll run into.

i use coolbits to do my overclocking. i also find that the auto detect settings are fairly accurate and often conservative. you could try doing the atuo detect settings and then test it to see what happens first.

two things you shouldnt do: dont fiddle with voltages, and DONT touch the 2D frequencies. the 2D frequencies are for 2D applications like photoshop and just being at the desktop (you dont need a lot of power for that stuff). make sure when you overclock you are overclocking the 3D part (there will be an option somewhere).