PDA

View Full Version : Tech questions, where to ask?

jdbnsn
11-06-2006, 12:41 AM
Hi all,

I was wondering if you know os a particular forum or website that would be a good place to find help with system setup/optimization questions. I know there are thousands of them, but I have no experience with these and frankly don't have time to sift through them at the moment. I just need someone to help me review my hardware config and components and give suggestions on upgrades and settings. Anyone know of a good noob friendly place? Thanks a million!
Jon

CanaBalistic
11-06-2006, 12:46 AM
Umm... Your here...

Ask away...

Crimson Sky
11-06-2006, 01:00 AM
LoL...dude.

DaveW
11-06-2006, 09:26 AM
Yeah, this place is great for this stuff.

-Dave

CanaBalistic
11-06-2006, 12:26 PM
Post a quick list of your hardware and we can begin to direct you from there.

jdbnsn
11-06-2006, 12:39 PM
Well, I've posted this type of question here before and didn't get many hits so I just figured that it was a little to far on the technical side and not mod-related enough to be discussed here. But since there seem to be volunteers...

I have many questions, basically I am learning most of this stuff for the first time when it comes to system tweaking. I have been able to slap some hardware together and make it run for years, but not too much beyond that. I have put together a system which runs good, but I think it could run much faster with the proper adjustments. Here is what it's made of:
-ASUS A8R32-MVP Deluxe s939 Crossfire Ready
-AMD Athlon 64 X 2 Dual-core (4800+) still using stock cooler
-Thermaltake Toughpower 700W Crossfire Certified PSU
-ATI 1900XTX Graphics card
-Creative Labs Soundblaster Fatality
-2 GB Corsair RAM (1GB X 2); I need to look up the model b/c I don't know the latency and such off hand but it was not the more expensive model
-IDE1 has master 250GB HDD (West. Dig. WDC WD2500BB-98DWAO) and slave 200GB HDD (Maxtor 6B200RO)
-IDE2 has DVD writer only