PDA

View Full Version : Some Basic Modding questions

ross863
05-19-2005, 02:45 AM
Hey 8)

I'm pretty new to case modding and this community so hello to all. I've mainly been building computers, so I geuss this is the next step up. I just have couple of basic questions to get started into modding. Firstly:

1. Do you need a Dremmel Multi-tool or somthing like? If not what's the alternative?

2. Is Plexi Glass the only glass worth using? (I think it's called Plexi)

3. What's the best/longest lasting way to colour a case?

4. Does anyone know of any tutorials of how to actually cut the case and attach the glass onto it? I imagine some sort of glue is used in most cases or screws?

5. If you were going to create any half way decent kind of Mod, what sort of price range (Pounds sterling if poss) would you be looking at e.g. Glass, some fancy lights, colour etc.

Thanks for any replies!

Ross

Xato
05-19-2005, 09:45 AM
Welcome to the community!... I saw ur location and thought u were an aussie like me... must be a melbourne in Europe too ey =P
Ok, here's my answers to ur questions... if u need anymore help just speak up.

1. Dremels / Rotary Tools aren't necessary, i've gotten by tus far without one. Jigsaws (with metal cutting blade) can usually do most basic designs with ease, and the more skilled jig sawer's can do intricate designs such as Crimsons 'Farcry' case...
Ofcourse filing and sanding should always be done afterwards, no matter what type of cutting you do.

2. The good thing about Plexi is its easy to use, and easy to cut. Its not to fragile and its light weight, which makes it valuable for keeping your PC from becoming a titanic (unless thats your mod design =P )