PDA

View Full Version : Fender Guitar Case Mod

Digital_Remix
12-21-2006, 03:09 AM
i am new to the "modding scene". i started building computers about a year ago and i've loved it ever since. until now i just bought any cool looking case that i thought was suitable for the client. it wasn't until i saw the Doom 3 case the other day i was completly inspired to begin my journey in the case modding world.

the case i am already in the process of making is a Fender stratocaster inspired case.

the case i am using is old as dirt, i hardly have any tools (borrowing a dremel, lol..) and i have no real skills of machine work or how to use tools (typical female..)

i play guitar and thought it'd be great to make a strat mod. black body with a white "sportscar" stripe going down the middle of the case (think longways, not the sides).

as you can see i sketeched this in paint. lolz

http://i12.tinypic.com/2rfubu1.jpg

suggestions? comments? concerns? i am going full speed ahead into this even though i am a n00b. if i fark up then i'll try again. kthx.

Digital_Remix
12-21-2006, 03:16 AM
okay i just had some ideas dawned upon me. instead of the circular window i may go with a pick shaped window.

i don't like the rectangle window anymore either. .

simon275
12-21-2006, 03:38 AM
Here is a good guide you can use to help paint your case.

http://www.overclock.net/case-mods-general-discussion/69626-spookys-computer-painting-guide.html

The guide is for spray cans. The guide is for painting a laptop but the same applies for a computer case.

Welcome to the forums. Yeah the doom mod has that effect on people.

Digital_Remix
12-21-2006, 03:47 AM
i've already checked out 200+ tutorials and have them saved. ;)

the painting does intimidate me as i will only have a sanding block and sand paper at my side, no power tools really. (at least 30+ hours of painting and sanding ahead, how awesome) i'm pretty cavewoman. idk though, i'm scared to do a work log. i do things very weirdly.