PDA

View Full Version : First Water Cooling Rig

The boy 4rm oz
01-21-2007, 08:37 AM
I'm new to water cooling so I don't know the best brands (appart from Danger Den ) or the best products.

I want to make an 1/2" system taking advantage of my top 80mm exhaust fan and the rear 120mm exhaust fan.

Here is a list of the products that I intend to purchase (Most fom Danger Den):
1x Black ICE GTS Stealth 120mm Radiator
1x Black Ice Micro 80mm Radiator
1x PrimoChill Typhoon Reservoir
1x Danger Den TDX 775 or RBX 775 (Can't decide)
1x Danger Den 8800GTX GPU Water Block
1x Danger Den CPS-MAG 12V Pump

Let me know what you think of if I should change anything.

Zephik
01-21-2007, 10:30 AM
First off... what are you cooling? Just the CPU and GPU?

I will assume that you know of all the little things you will need. Such as for example, Clamps. <- I would recommend getting those metal ones you typically see on plumbing from hardware stores (Like Home Depot). That said, I'll review what you have listed...

1. 1x Black ICE GTS Stealth 120mm Radiator
2. 1x Black Ice Micro 80mm Radiator
3. 1x PrimoChill Typhoon Reservoir
4. 1x Danger Den TDX 775 or RBX 775 (Can't decide)
5. 1x Danger Den 8800GTX GPU Water Block
6. 1x Danger Den CPS-MAG 12V Pump

1. Good price/performance ratio. The better of this, of course, is the GTX. But they are friggen pricey. But the GTS series are really good Rads.
2. I almost didn't realize what you wanted this for, its for the 80mm top right? Hmmm... never thought about doing it like that. I say... Cool! Go for it, should be pretty original and good for upgrading or just for better cooling. I would but this in the loop for the lowest heat emitting component. I'll assume thats you CPU. I don't think I needed to tell you that though huh? lol
3. Is this that 5.25 Bay Res with the UV front? I like these, they have some pretty neat-o features about them. Are you going to get some of the add ons that the make for them? Like the UV LED's, those are cool.