PDA

View Full Version : Please assist me in Linux Installation.

Doomfest
01-21-2007, 10:34 PM
Hi, I'm a frequent windows user. I want to change to linux. Any tips will be extremely appreciated. Thing is- I don't even know where to START installing linux! D: Help?

SgtM
01-21-2007, 11:06 PM
Which distro of Linux are you installing? I would suggest Fedora or Ubuntu as they are both GUI based, and not hard to work with. Basically, the installation is rather simple. Download the distro you want, burn it to CD, and then boot the computer from the CD just like you would a Windows install. Ubuntu takes 1 CD and Fedora takes 5. I am by no means a Linux guru.. I just started playing around with it myself. I'll be happy to assist in whatever way I can though.

Doomfest
01-22-2007, 12:39 AM
You have no idea how much help that is. :P I dont even know what distros are. How many linux distros are there? what exactly are they? Where can I get them? Thanks a lot. :D

SgtM
01-22-2007, 09:06 AM
www.distrowatch.com

Fedora: http://fedora.redhat.com/

Ubuntu: http://www.ubuntu.com/

I hope this helps.

edit: I almost forgot. If you choose Ubuntu, it will run off of the CD before you install it. That way, you can have a look around. If you choose to install it, there will be an icon on the desktop to start the install. You can also install a LAMP (Linux, Apache, MySQL, PHP) server with either distro. With a LAMP server, you have everything to effectively run a web hosting server. That's why I started playing around with it in the first place. Just something to tinker with and run a small intranet at home.

xmastree
01-22-2007, 03:08 PM
Yep, I recommend ubuntu too. I use it exclusively on my laptop.

As sgtm said, download the CD and boot from it.
(you do know how to burn an image, don't you? If not, see this (http://www.xmastree.34sp.com/ubuntu/burn))