PDA

View Full Version : Web Programming And Css

klingelton
01-24-2007, 07:50 AM
righty, i can't think of anywhere else to post this.

I'm currently creating a website for a client, but my css aint that hot (given i only started learning it about a month ago)

The web page is dynamically driven using asp and javascript, and i've decided to dabble further into css for the presentation.

currently i've added dynamically driven tabs to present the user with different categories and to remove the sidebar so we can get as much info as possible on the screen at once. the problem is that since there are so many categories, we can't use the full names and are using shortened versions of the names.

Now when you hover over a picture and you assign an alt="something" to that picture, after a few seconds it displays a small box containing the "something" text. i wanted to use this with the anchor, however this is not a property of the anchor tag.

now i know that css can create drop down boxes etc, and i was wondering if any of you have some helpful snippets of code so i could get a floating box next to my anchor.

I know this aint strictly anything to do with modding, but some of you guys and gals must be web developers or have a dabbling in it!!!

Please help!!

DaveW
01-24-2007, 09:03 AM
Wait, what? You can't really create drop down boxes with CSS. CSS Allows you define a drop down box but it's content is decided by your ASP/PSP scripts (or Javascript).

I've been looking for web developers to help with the TBCS site for nearly half a year now, and no-one appart from OneLegOut and ESX have really responded. Tybrenis knows some stuff but i get the impression he's not too interested in this with his own site to manage.

So what do you want next to your anchor? A Floating box? That's not too hard, you can specify it's co-ordinates with CSS both relatively and absolutely. You can also specify a Z-index to make it float above other things.