PDA

View Full Version : 8800GTX on P4 3.0ghz rig - is it worth it?

onelegout
03-17-2007, 12:29 PM
Hey guys,
Turns out that 5 years ago my dad (who died two years ago) put £500 into an investment bond for me just for fun! I only found out today that he'd done this, and when it matures in a few weeks It all goes into my bank account! That means I will have a large amount of money to spend! And thats the best part - my mum says it's not for saving its for spending on whatever I want :D

So, I'm going to get a Kaos Pad for my DJing, another 19" monitor for my 'pooter, and I was considering buying an 8800GTX as well and giving the rest of the money to charity.
My question is, my current rig, (p4 3.0ghz, 2gb XMS pro pc3200 cas2.0, 7900GTX 512mb) maxes bf2142 out easily, but I want to run the DX10 games as I have vista and the technology looks mindblowing. I'm also a game dev so I will need to be familiar with the 'next gen' DX10 games and be able to implement the technology in future work. I was wondering whether buying an 8800GTX would be a waste of money on a rig which isn't exactly top of the line? I mean, a P4 3.0ghz is no E6600!

The problem is that I dont want to just buy pc stuff, I want to get the kaos pad as well, and if I do that I cant afford to upgrade cpu, mobo, ram etc.

So would it give me a big enough advantage to merit going DX10 and spending the money?
If I'm going to do it I have to do it now while I'm about to go to the states!

Peace,
H

Spawn-Inc
03-17-2007, 04:34 PM
go for 4gbs of ram is that even worth it or necessary? lets say you have 2gbs of ddr2 pc8500 at 1000mhz and 4gb pc5400 running at 700mhz which is better?

Note: sorry to hijack

if i had what you have i think i would be content i would put the rest of the money away in savings and get a awesome computer once DX10 is common

Silenced_Coyote
03-17-2007, 05:21 PM
This is what TomsHardware said: