PDA

View Full Version : Ain't Studying a Bitch?

DaveW
04-08-2007, 07:37 PM
I don't know about you guys, but when i'm studying, i like to 'reward' myself for good run of work. I normally do this by taking out 15 minutes for every hour of studying to play a video game.

So, after 4 hours of studying, i allow myself an hour of gaming. Knowing i usually get addicted, i instead have lunch, do 4 more hours of studying, and then play till i go to sleep. (We can assume that i do other things in my day, like delete spam from these hallowed halls of knowledge.)

Anyway, what game is suitably non-addictive, short, and offers me the greatest amount of escapism? It would have to be a relaxing game, or absorbing, but at the same time, i need to be able to put it down. This means that RPG's and any MMO games are out of the picture, because they're to addictive. FPS games are also good; usually relaxing, unless it's a 'spooky' game. RTS, now that's different. A good skirmish game will last what, 3 hours tops for me? I usually only play them on easy anyway, because i'm not much of a RTS gamer although i do enjoy them.

So here's the point: i have Half Life 2 Episode 1 on my shelf, in the wrapper. And i'm looking at Supreme Commander and Command and Conquer 3 as well. All this to help me get through the most strenuous of times; finals.

I'd love to hear the recommendations of my brethren before i splash out on a game though. At the moment, I'm thinking that my best bet for a game i can pick up and put down is Supreme Commander, and i think it will look sweet on my dual monitor display. My PC will crunch the graphics no problem, so what do you guys think?

-Dave

Bucko
04-08-2007, 07:47 PM
I suggest The Godfather. It's fun, not too hard and fairly easy to put down when needed and come back to it later.

It was AU$50 when I got it (which with the exchange rate is probably 73p). I can play it on high settings on my 7600GS video card too.

nil8
04-08-2007, 10:18 PM