PDA

View Full Version : Case, MOBO, PSU etc...

Kano
06-29-2005, 02:58 AM
Hi, I'm new to these parts. I'm an avid gamer and am looking to upgrade my old and dated rig (Geforce 6600GT AGP 8x, 1.8 Ghz Athlon XP Barton, 768 MB 2700 cheepo mem, old gigabyte MOBO, 350W PSU, old WD 80 gig IDE HD) Anyways, I'm planning to save my money for some time and am looking to jump from barely entry level to "Extreme Gamer"<------ "woah". Really I've already decided on an AMD FX (Or X2, which is better for gaming?), Geforce 7800 GTX for sure, not sure on MOBO (MSI K8N Neo4, Asus?)... Hopefully these complcations will be easily resolved by the time I have money.

What a really need help with is teh case and PSU. I want to get a case with good cooling, case that will last me a while, will work with all kinds of setups (water cooling etc), and also... looks cool (athlough thats not the most important part). Also I'm in a pickle concerning the power supply. I'm new to the idea of dual PSUs and might consider upgrading to another 7800 GTX, and putting them in SLI.

Really I don't want to spend a ton of money right away and will make less important upgades like water cooling or adding another video card later on. Hey I'm a kid, but I figure I'll have plenty enough to afford a very very decent system by the time Longhorn comes out.

There's so many choices, I really can't decide with the limited knowledge that I have. But I'm learning, so help me out.

-Thank'ee

Xbrid
06-29-2005, 03:29 AM
Will you overclock? What Sort of Case do you like, Flashly or Professional looking? Lian-Li Make very Good Quality cases, for a high price. Are you getting a fulltower or midi? If It's your first time watercooling, and your not very good a wire management, Go Full tower. I just put 1/2 " water cooling in my PC-75 (http://www.xoxide.com/lianlipc751.html ) and i had a bit of trouble with it