PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a low impact linux distro

luciusad2004
06-23-2007, 04:32 PM
Hey guys. Ive been running Ubuntu for a little bit. It runs great and all, but I'm running a pretty weak box and i was wondering if any of you could recommend a low impact os. (give me some time and ill get the spec's on my PC for you) Every now and then i still get some visual lag in Ubuntu and i want something quick and responsive.

As far as what ill use it for, i pretty much just use it for web browsing and what not. I might occasionally listen to some music if i get around to hooking it up to my stereo.[i have no PC speakers :( ] I'm a total newb to linux so i guess i don't want anything overly complicated, but i have been pretty bored so i might be up to a learning experience.

Thanks for any responses guys.

XcOM
06-23-2007, 05:53 PM
http://www.damnsmalllinux.org/damnsmall.jpg (http://www.damnsmalllinux.org/)
^Link

DSL stands for "Damn Small Linux

The following is ripped from the website:

DSL is a very versatile 50MB mini desktop oriented Linux distribution.

Damn Small is small enough and smart enough to do the following things:
Boot from a business card CD as a live linux distribution (LiveCD)
Boot from a USB pen drive
Boot from within a host operating system (that's right, it can run *inside* Windows)
Run very nicely from an IDE Compact Flash drive via a method we call "frugal install"
Transform into a Debian OS with a traditional hard drive install
Run light enough to power a 486DX with 16MB of Ram
Run fully in RAM with as little as 128MB (you will be amazed at how fast your computer can be!)
Modularly grow -- DSL is highly extendable without the need to customize

-----------------

See the website for more details. Its a live CD with the option to install onto a hard drive.

luciusad2004
06-23-2007, 07:05 PM