PDA

View Full Version : Painting case

leo6969123
07-14-2005, 09:49 PM
I'm new to modding. I've done things like windows and lights.
I'm thinking for my next case doing a zombie theme case.
My question is how can I paint my case to look like it has been buried
with dirt still on it. I not the best painter any help would be great.
Thanks

timmer
07-14-2005, 11:30 PM
What I'd do is spray "dirt" (just do blotches of brown on the case) and dont do a clearcoat. But I'm still in the planning stages of my first mod, so I'd ask some of the experts around here.

sXenoG
07-14-2005, 11:57 PM
You sound like me timer im planning mine as well im on my 3rd different case mod idea. I just cant get myself to start.

MrSlacker
07-15-2005, 12:20 AM
when it rains, go outside and dig up some wet dirt. then throw it on your case. when its covered in it, put it in the oven at 400C for about 40min. then take it out and enjoy a perfect dirt mod!

sXenoG
07-15-2005, 12:33 AM
Im thinking you should try out the method that was used to make the rocky base on the doom3 case while just refining the process a little.

But then again you did say paint so that method probably wont suit you.

dafatkid
07-22-2005, 11:03 PM
you could also used a spray adhesive and build up layers of ripped up foam then paint accordingly.

Malatory
07-23-2005, 10:49 PM
I would look into the rock molds. Or you can look at the different types of train scenery. They do sell rocks and stuff that looks like grass. You might be able to glue that on the case and get close to the effect you want. Plus if you use the rock molds 1st you can get an idea ahead of time if it will work or not.

Aero
07-24-2005, 02:17 AM