PDA

View Full Version : Laptop Battery Charging?

TheGreatSatan
07-17-2007, 12:15 AM
My laptop arrived today and even though I got a bunch of guides on basic setup, none of them said anything about charging the battery. I know the battery has to be attached when the laptop is plugged in, but I don't know how long the battery needs to be charged for and how to determine when it's done. Can it be over-charged? Does the laptop need to be booted in order for the battery to charge or can I plug in the laptop without booting to let it charge?

I'm a laptop noob, so I'm sorry if I sound like an idiot.

Jim Beam
07-17-2007, 12:26 AM
most laptops have an internal regulator that stops the charging when the battery is fully charged. mine takes about 4 hours from dead to fully charge it's a pretty new sony viao

Spawn-Inc
07-17-2007, 12:28 AM
well i don't have any reaexp with laptops but i'm going to say that you can charge it while its turned off. i'm assuming its a lithium ion batter 6 or 9 cell so plug it in for a while, i'm guess 6 hours?, since its the first charge. i don't think the laptop would let it over-charge. i'm prettyy confident in my post 70-80% but wait for others who have experience with it.

Zephik
07-17-2007, 12:31 AM
When in doubt, charge for 12 hours. Thats my motto for first time charges on new devices, such as laptops. Unless its otherwise specified. Cell phones are usually 6 hours for the initial charge, I'm not sure what laptops are.

My laptops battery has a nifty button on it, when I push it, it lights up LED's to let me know its charge.

No, it can't be "over-charged". It can be "under-charged" the first time you charge it though. These things usually say how long you have to charge it for, like with cell phones. If it doesn't list it, charge it for 12 hours. It shouldn't take more than that.