PDA

View Full Version : Cathode inverter, can I build it myself?

Mysteriphys
08-10-2007, 01:48 AM
I'd like to start out by saying, I'm new to you all, but not new to modding, I've had a few projects over the years including stealing Ideas from dell (and parts to make it work, and cutting air vents, and even fun LED work, (I've also done some automotive fiberglassing which is very transferable to case modding ;)

point being, thats why I didn't post in the rookie nook :) hopefully I'm taken seriously, I'm actually working quite hard on the mod that I'm doing, but I am going to take it step by step to make sure it works the way I want it to.

so heres the thing, I want to do a pretty crazy mod, I've got a bunch of parts, and I'm ready to go, 2 things holding me back, I've not got the experience (for the specific mod), and I've not got the knowledge base(for the internal electronics).

so here is what I need to fix first. I have a cathode out of a 10 inch laptop screen that I want to put in the machine just for lighting, I have the origional inverter, but I can't for the life of me find the wiring schematic for it to get the proper voltage and hookup, so I was wondering, since this place looks pretty full of knowledgeable people..

does anyone here know where I can get some instructions on building my own inverter? I've got the basic principle down, as far as formula goes, I ave to have a source voltage (which I've pretty much decided should be the extra 12v rail on my psu since I don't have a fancy pci-e card to use the rail) which the output on it runs approx 300 ma at 20 watts.) I need to make an actual formula that could output the parts I need to get it to the right voltage for the cathode, which from what I've seen by looking around works out to about 600v at around the same amperage.