Thread: First Case Build

duct tape can fix anything Tavarin's Avatar

Default First Case Build

I'm fairly new to the modding of computer parts and cases, only doing custom paint jobs on my cases and equipment in the past. But now I want to build a case, not just mod an existing one. I'll only be using the mobo tray and drive bays from an existing case, all of which will be reshaped and moved.

I plan on using my current computer system in this case, the only changes I plan to make by the time this case is complete is to put in an 850w galazy and start crossfire to a second Radeon HD2900XT.

Here's a quick design I made up in SketchUp. It's the first thing I've ever made in SketchUp so it doesn't look great (any help on using SketchUp would be appreciated) but it should give you a good idea of what I want to achieve:

From the front:

From the back:

The other side;

For case cooling I would have 3 120mm fans, 2 80mm fans, and the large fan that comes on the bottom of the PSU. I'm planning on using a Zalman on my CPU which can be seen in the first 2 pictures. Originally I wanted to mount the power supply inside the case, but the Zalman got in the way, so I decided to move the PSU up and out of the case entirely. I may build a cover for the PSU, but have yet to decide.

The drive doors on the front will have much better fire on them. They will also be spring loaded from behind so as to pop open at a touch of a button. Quick and easy

As for the materials I will be using 2mm aluminum for most of the body, and standard Plexiglas (or acrylic) for the windows. The symbol on the side door will be carved into the window and lit up with a red light bar. As for the colour of the case I have yet to decide, so I just made the sides metal in the pictures (any suggestions on colour will be welcome). The power button/reset button/Power LED's area will be made with plastic and aluminum so far as I've planned.