Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Painting tips

Default Painting tips

When you are painting and you wetsand the coats before placing the next coat...does this include your final color coat?

In other words, do you wetsand that last coat of color before placing the first coat of clear? And if so, will you not be able to see that you wetsanded through the clear? Or do you just leave the last coat of color unsanded then place the first coat of clear on that...and if so how do you get all the imperfections outta that last coat of color?

As you can probably tell....I am ready to put on clear coat but not sure what, if anything I need to do next....but I do know I need to get those imperfections (aka dust particles, small hairs, overspray, etc, outta that last coat.

Default Re: Painting

If you use a high grit sand paper (1000 and up) you should be fine I think because the clear should smooth it out just fine, but you might want some other opinions, I'm not an expert with wet sanding.

thats what I was thinking just wanted another opinion....well its time to go to walmart i guess

High-tech Redneck crazybillybob's Avatar

Pick up some 2000 grit. It works better for the final color layer, and clear coats.

My rule of thumb 2-3 coats primer then wetsand with 1000, 2-3 coats of color then wet with 1000, 1 top coat of color wetsand with 2000 (lightly you just want to smooth out the orange peel), then 3 coats of clear wetsand with 2000, then 1 light coat of clear, buff and polish NO WAX. Let it sit for 30-45 days Then wax.

Hope it helps!

Crazybillybob

If the Item being painted is going to be moved/used alot (more likly to be scratched) you can double the color and clear coats but wetsand ever 2 layers.

it moves about 1 every 2 months or so (or 1 month or less pending on how busy i am) when I got to lans so I did plan on putting an extra layer of clear coat