Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Ethernet and Telephone over 1 Cat5 cable

  1. #1
    Administrator OvRiDe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    4,580

    Default Ethernet and Telephone over 1 Cat5 cable

    Recently I had ATT Uverse installed and came to the situation where I need to run a telephone line and an ethernet cable from one side of the room to the other. So here is my little simple solution.

    A little background information first. Ethernet twisted pair cables have 4 sets of twisted pairs. A network card and switch, router, hub, etc only use 2 pairs. A telephone connection only requires 1 pair for a single line and 2 pairs of course for 2 lines. So this project capitalizes on the 2 unused pairs by the computer, and uses them for telephone connections.

    Here are some of the materials I used.

    1 RJ-11 Keystone Jack, 2 RJ-45 Keystone Jacks, and some Cat 5e

    A standard punchdown tool to secure the connections.

    And here is the diagram I put together to show how they are wired.


    The Keystone jacks for the RJ45's will usually have 2 sets of color coding on them, for 2 different cabling standards. 568-A and 568-B. For this project I am using the color codes for the 568-A scheme.


    Now to start the actual work..
    First I took a section of Cat5e and striped off about an inch and half of the outer blue jacket.

    I then untwisted the pairs and punched all the wires into a single RJ45 Keystone jack.

    Notice the word "CUT" on the tool. That is to indicate that it will cut on that side of the tool.. so always make sure that is facing outwards on a keystone jack.

    Here its with all the wires punched into place.

    Snap the covers on and it almost looks pro

    Next I stripped off about 3 inches of the blue jacket of the opposite end of the cable.

    I then untwisted the pairs so that I could split them between the 2 jacks.

    I used sections of the jacket that I stripped off to separate the 2 bundles.


    After they were separated, I just followed my diagram to attach the RJ-11 for telephone and RJ-45 for ethernet to the separated bundles .

    And here is the finished product ready for its twin to be made.

    Once the first one was complete is was a snap to build the second one.


    Now I can use any patch cable between these 2 "dongles" and pass both telephone and ethernet where ever it may be needed.

    Hope some of you may find this useful in the future.

  2. #2
    Like a Lightning Bolt in Your Cheerios! Drum Thumper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    4,522

    Default Re: Ethernet and Telephone over 1 Cat5 cable

    Quote Originally Posted by artoodeeto View Post
    aw heck guys. We're modders. Let's just build our own, shall we?

    DrumThumper.net || The Brewing Art ||
    My Flickr Stream

  3. #3
    Spam Sniper SgtM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    4,545

    Default Re: Ethernet and Telephone over 1 Cat5 cable

    I've thought of doing this so many times. Excellent guide. +rep

  4. #4

    Default Re: Ethernet and Telephone over 1 Cat5 cable

    nicely done! I've always found it funny how they wasted the extra pairs. seen plenty of people make double ethernet cables from a single cable. great tut!

  5. #5
    Overclocked Okele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    258

    Default Re: Ethernet and Telephone over 1 Cat5 cable

    I have a friend who turned some of his extra cat5 into a USB chord

  6. #6
    Resident 100HP water-cannon operator SXRguyinMA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    5,862

    Default Re: Ethernet and Telephone over 1 Cat5 cable

    awesome idea, love it!

  7. #7
    Overclocked phen0m's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    US
    Posts
    258

    Default Re: Ethernet and Telephone over 1 Cat5 cable

    Sweet idea.
    Quote Originally Posted by Zephik
    Quote Originally Posted by DonT-FeaR
    i believe its cake that attracts fat kids... not the other way around
    Yea well you try telling a fat kid that.

  8. #8
    You seem to be stood on my tail... Helix666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    449

    Default Re: Ethernet and Telephone over 1 Cat5 cable

    IIRC, those 'unused' pairs are only unused if you have 10/100Mbps ethernet, and you'll have to remove the splitters if you decide to later go to 1Gbps or higher.

    You only need all 4 pairs of wires if you are running gigabit network switches.
    > http://forums.pcworld.co.nz/archive/...p/t-59910.html

    However, if you're gonna be sticking to 10/100 for the forseeable future, way to use all that spare cable.
    Quote Originally Posted by gntlkilr
    warranties are meant to be voided.
    Turns out, they'll let any idiot with a wrench work on hydraulics.

  9. #9
    Religiously tolerant. Luke122's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,246

    Default Re: Ethernet and Telephone over 1 Cat5 cable

    POE often uses all 8 wires also.

    But again, great tut!

    \m/ d(-_-)b \m/

    R9 290X+Kraken+Corsair H90, Xeon 5649@4ghz, Asus P6T-WS Pro

  10. #10
    High-tech Redneck crazybillybob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Currently Homeless
    Posts
    1,028

    Default Re: Ethernet and Telephone over 1 Cat5 cable

    depending on the Phone, and network equipt... Some times this will cause problems with 100mb networks two. Causes the switch and nic to think they should be running @ 10mb. You can also hear a slight "static" in the back ground on the phone again, this really depends on the phone (how well you hear and your phone service quality... were I grew up we would have never noticed.. of course we also heard the neighbors conversation on the lines too ), heck even the weather will make it better or worse
    I've also used this method for those places I need an extra jack but can't justify running a whole new cable... like for an extra printer... not used allot not high traffic.. a little noise on the line will not hurt anything works like a champ!

    Nice post Over!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •