Thread: Biohazard

If you can't hack it, you don't own it! Oneslowz28's Avatar

Default Biohazard

This is my first mod. It is not the most elegant or the most challenging that has been posted on this site. I posted 2 designs here about a year ago but ran out of time to get started on them. With the need of a file server being my top priority I decided to just convert my current box into a server using Unbuntu and just find a simple case to do some light mods over time to. I picked the case up from a friend who started to etch the word Battlefield on to the side then lost interest.

So over the last few months I have been slowly (very slowly IE: Slower than a snail) moding on the case and living with my laptop being my only general purpose computer. Last night I finished all of the mods I had planned. I did not take photos of the actual modding as I am a professional photographer and the last thing I want to do at night is take more photos. To be honest I had originally planned to just throw in some led fans and 2 UV cffl and forget it, but as time passed and the modding bug bit I added more and more mods to the plan. So Below I am just going to showcase those mods. Sorry for no proper work log.

Here is how the case started.

The first thing I did was add EL wire to the inside of the front mesh. I used hot glue to hold it in place until I used up the whole 5 feet. Luckily 2 “layers” side by side took the whole 5 feet. This took around am hour because I made sure to keep the EL wire close together so it looked like 1 solid piece. I would glue a spot and after it cooled I would move onto the next glue spot an inch away.

Here is a close up of the wire behind the mesh.

And a shot of the wiring

Then I added a simple audio port since this case lacked one on the front.

The next thing on my list was to add some LEDs for spot lighting.
    I added 2 to the PSU.

And with the lights off

They project green spots onto the back of the dvd drive.