Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu handicapable

Default Ubuntu handicapable

I'm having a hell of a time with this damned thing. I've never worked with linux before, granted, but how difficult does this have to be? Now I have downloaded 3 different versions of the iso and still don't have an OS to show for it. The first was ubuntu server 8.10, when that didn't work I used the ubuntu alternative version, now I'm trying ubuntu LTS and still nothing. I've taken the hard drive out and deleted the partitions then formatted in both NT and FAT and nothing. BIOS does recognize there is a drive there but whenever I try running the install disks it loads a command line interface called "Busybox". Anyone here know what the hell I'm doing wrong? I've tried loking in ubuntu's documentation and I can't find a solution.
    "At the midpoint on the journey of life, I found myself in a dark forest, for the clear path was lost..." -Dante Alighieri

Sunshine Flavored Lollipops Zephik's Avatar

Default Re: Ubuntu handicapable

Thats weird. From my experience, its just a matter of popping in the CD and after the computer does some booting up it pops up an install screen for ubuntu with multiple options. Like install ubuntu, or run ubuntu off of the disc, etc.

Maybe you have to enable booting from disc in the bios or something like that?
    People are stupid; given proper motivation, almost anyone will believe almost anything. Because people are stupid, they will believe a lie because they want to believe it's true, or because they are afraid it might be true. People’s heads are full of knowledge, facts, and beliefs, and most of it is false, yet they think it all true. People are stupid; they can only rarely tell the difference between a lie and the truth, and yet they are confident they can, and so are all the easier to fool.