Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Turning an old Compaq into a new mod?

Default Turning an old Compaq into a new mod?

Hi all,

This is my first time on this forum, i was wondering if anyone could help me locate drive brackets for an old computer? I have an old compaq that hasnt been used in forever. It has 2 5.25 bays, 1 floppy bay, and 2 3.25 bays. I am missing drive brackets for the two 5.25 bays and 1 3.25 bay. Ive tried to newegg and ebay and google these pieces but nothing seems to come up. Does anyone know where i can find these parts?

Default Re: Turning an old Compaq into a new mod?

Welcome to TBCS!

Post up a picture if you have one or a model number of the computer.

The place I go for spare drive brackets is really close to me and it is called Weird Stuff Warehouse. They have a couple of bins full of various drive sleds and brackets...
    "...Dumb all over, A little ugly on the side... "...Frank Zappa...

the computer is an old presario S5200CL. I will post pictures when i get home and charge my camera. Thanks

The last picture is of the one remaining 3.5 bracket that i have

Thanks for the link Airbozo, the store has replacement parts for compaqs but they dont have any drive sleds. I was told by a friend that the drive sled/bracket thing is probably proprietary and i probably wont be able to get another.

Quote Originally Posted by SinCrisis View Post

The last picture is of the one remaining 3.5 bracket that i have

Thanks for the link Airbozo, the store has replacement parts for compaqs but they dont have any drive sleds. I was told by a friend that the drive sled/bracket thing is probably proprietary and i probably wont be able to get another.
    Even though they don't list any sleds, they probably have some in the bins.