Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What model dremel?

Default What model dremel?

Hi,

I'm new to modding and i need to buy a dremel rotary tool. I'm looking at Lowes and there are many different options and i was wondering fi anyone could give me some tips on what I need?

http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...02L&lpage=none

http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio.../55&lpage=none

http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...-03&lpage=none

http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio.../40&lpage=none

And those are just the first couple of options. For the case im looking to mod, Its an old compaq case, pretty sure its aluminum, and I need to cut a window so... Could i get some shopping tips please?

Default Re: What model dremel?

The last one is very similar to my Craftsman. That's probably a good bet - multiple speeds (which are crucial), it's corded (trust me, you want a corded one unless you want to buy a couple of spare batteries), and it's fairly inexpensive. If all you want is a solid, inexpensive rotary tool, that's hard to beat.

One thing I can't overemphasize: buy reinforced cutting wheels. The basic ones wear down very quickly and have an unfortunate tendency to shatter. The reinforced ones don't shatter, so you don't have to worry about anything embedding itself in your glasses (you're gonna want safety glasses if you don't wear prescription ones) or the mask you'll want if you're going to be cutting for any length of time (though putting your shirt over your nose/mouth works, too, at the expense of comfort and dignity). Paper is fine for that - you're just trying not to breathe in fine particulates.