Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Good memory tester for Vista

  1. #1
    50 Custom PC's in 10 Years! TheGreatSatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Southern IL
    Posts
    6,629

    Default Good memory tester for Vista

    I tried installing SP2 for Vista and I kept getting blue screens. I want to test the memory first. Anyone know of a decent free tester?
    ----------------------------------------
    ----------------------------------------
    NEW GENESIS
    *******************************
    Modified Azza Genesis with an Intel i7 2600K, Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H, 32GB (8GB x 4) Corsair XMS3, 960GB Crucial M500, 240GB Sandisk Extreme, 1275 Watt Thermaltake 80 Platinum Modular PSU, Gigabyte GTX 780 OC 3GB, and a Corsair H60

  2. #2
    SOB Fettler xmastree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Burnley, Lancs. UK
    Posts
    1,704

    Default Re: Good memory tester for Vista

    http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/

    It's not 'for Vista' it's for computers. If you're testing the memory, you don't want a huge OS loaded in it.

    It does have this on it, if you really want a 'Windows' one...

    Quote Originally Posted by aintnothang View Post
    Think of a way to simulate a real bullet hole, like shooting it.

  3. #3
    Administrator OvRiDe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    4,584

    Default Re: Good memory tester for Vista

    Xmas beat me to it.

    A memory tester that is running on an OS that is blue screening is not where you want to run it from. If the OS is bluescreening because it of the memory it is acessing, it would blue screen while it was testing it. You should run it from an alternate lightweight OS such as the boot cd Xmas suggested!

  4. #4
    50 Custom PC's in 10 Years! TheGreatSatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Southern IL
    Posts
    6,629

    Default Re: Good memory tester for Vista

    Well if it bluescreens during the test then is it safe to assume that it's the memory that's the problem?
    ----------------------------------------
    ----------------------------------------
    NEW GENESIS
    *******************************
    Modified Azza Genesis with an Intel i7 2600K, Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H, 32GB (8GB x 4) Corsair XMS3, 960GB Crucial M500, 240GB Sandisk Extreme, 1275 Watt Thermaltake 80 Platinum Modular PSU, Gigabyte GTX 780 OC 3GB, and a Corsair H60

  5. #5
    Measure once, curse twice nevermind1534's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan
    Posts
    3,244

    Default Re: Good memory tester for Vista

    I think it's best to use a standalone test that doesn't use windows, such as memtest86. If it bluescreens, it's most likely a memory problem. Best thing to do would be to test the memory in another computer that uses the same type, if one is available, or use known good working memory.
    Help my mini city
    Population Industry Transport Security
    Quote Originally Posted by progbuddy View Post
    It's probably the extreme radiation from the nuclear core in your phone. Push the control rod all the way in.
    Quote Originally Posted by UrbanLegend_NY View Post
    I'm not selling it in hell I'm selling it on eBay.

  6. #6
    Administrator OvRiDe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    4,584

    Default Re: Good memory tester for Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by TheGreatSatan View Post
    Well if it bluescreens during the test then is it safe to assume that it's the memory that's the problem?
    Logically I would say yes, but when it comes to windows its not really that simple. There are so many factors running in the background of the OS that its really hard to assume that. It could be something like the chipset driver corrupted, or something in the Hardware Access Layer got fubarred. Or any other thing in between.

    This is why taking all of that out of the picture can yield a better result. A stand alone software such as memtest86 uses a smaller initial memory footprint then a full blown windows OS.

    You can download an ISO of memtest86+ from http://www.memtest.org/
    It also they appear to have an installable version for windows as well.

    Good luck and I hope this helps.

  7. #7
    50 Custom PC's in 10 Years! TheGreatSatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Southern IL
    Posts
    6,629

    Default Re: Good memory tester for Vista

    I have two 1GB sticks and two 512MB sticks. In the end I just pulled out tthe older 512's and it works fine. I installed both service packs and never had a problem

    I wonder if the RAM is bad or if it's just a mismatch timing thing
    ----------------------------------------
    ----------------------------------------
    NEW GENESIS
    *******************************
    Modified Azza Genesis with an Intel i7 2600K, Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H, 32GB (8GB x 4) Corsair XMS3, 960GB Crucial M500, 240GB Sandisk Extreme, 1275 Watt Thermaltake 80 Platinum Modular PSU, Gigabyte GTX 780 OC 3GB, and a Corsair H60

  8. #8
    SOB Fettler xmastree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Burnley, Lancs. UK
    Posts
    1,704

    Default Re: Good memory tester for Vista

    Quote Originally Posted by TheGreatSatan View Post
    I wonder if the RAM is bad or if it's just a mismatch timing thing
    Easiest way to check is to run one of those memtest programs with only one in at a time.

    Quote Originally Posted by aintnothang View Post
    Think of a way to simulate a real bullet hole, like shooting it.

  9. #9
    Custom Title Honors BuzzKillington's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    2,492

    Default Re: Good memory tester for Vista

    Ubuntu?

  10. #10
    50 Custom PC's in 10 Years! TheGreatSatan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Southern IL
    Posts
    6,629

    Default Re: Good memory tester for Vista

    Garbage?
    ----------------------------------------
    ----------------------------------------
    NEW GENESIS
    *******************************
    Modified Azza Genesis with an Intel i7 2600K, Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H, 32GB (8GB x 4) Corsair XMS3, 960GB Crucial M500, 240GB Sandisk Extreme, 1275 Watt Thermaltake 80 Platinum Modular PSU, Gigabyte GTX 780 OC 3GB, and a Corsair H60

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •