Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Review: ioSafe Solo 500gb disaster proof external hard drive.

If you can't hack it, you don't own it! Oneslowz28's Avatar

Default Review: ioSafe Solo 500gb disaster proof external hard drive.

A new story entry has been added:

[drupal=391]Review: ioSafe Solo 500gb disaster proof external hard drive. [/drupal]

By Oneslowz28

As some of you know, I am a professional photographer. With that job comes the need for reliable and protected data storage. One of my selling points is archival of all photographs for 1 year for free and then offer additional archival time for a small fee. That makes me responsible for protecting the photographs that I am paid to archive. I have been searching the web for the perfect solution and I believe I have found it.

Default Re: Review: ioSafe Solo 500gb disaster proof external hard drive.

Looks good. Sometimes I wish I had important enough data to justify buying stuff like this...

How long can it be submerged in 1500 degree water? hehe.

Will YOU be ready when the zombies rise? x88x's Avatar

Did you try the waterproof claims? I'd be interested to see that as well.

Good review though; props for actually testing the heat.

Quote Originally Posted by mDust View Post
    How long can it be submerged in 1500 degree water? hehe.
    Indefinitely, as you will never find 1500 degree water inside a gravity well ;p

The boiling temperature of water is 100C (212F), so as long as the heated water is inside a gravity well, once a given water molecule reaches 100C, it has enough energy to release from the liquid, and becomes steam. IIRC, this gets screwed up when you leave a gravity well, as in that environment the additional energy is held in by the surface tension of the water droplet until some external force breaks the surface tension...at which point it explodes into steam. I think there is a point where it will explode without external interaction, but iirc it's far beyond 100C.