Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: soldering a 120V wire

  1. #1
    woy...collokweee...weeble weeble blaaaat artoodeeto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Simi Valley, California, USA
    Posts
    1,075

    Default soldering a 120V wire

    I need to re-solder some wires in my now dismantled power supply. One of those wires connects the power switch to the power plug, and as such will be running 120V all the time. I have a soldering gun that's dual wattage: 150W or 230W, and temps between 950 deg. and 1100 deg. respectively. Presuming this is hot enough to melt the right kind of solder, what type of solder should I get? I only have a thin wire spool of rosin-core solder right now, and I'm assuming its melting temp is too low for a 120V line.
    If the solder gun I have isn't hot enough, what should I look to get? thanks!!!
    (the other wires I will be soldering carry a max of 12V, and I know the solder I have can handle that).
    Quote Originally Posted by ElevateThis View Post
    I'd mod my dog if i could.
    Quote Originally Posted by AmEv View Post
    (Steam me.... that sounds bad >_<)

  2. #2
    Yuk it up Monkey Boy! Airbozo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    In the Redwoods
    Posts
    5,270

    Default Re: soldering a 120V wire

    It will not matter. So long as your soldering gun is powerful enough to heat the wire to melt the solder it will be fine.
    "...Dumb all over, A little ugly on the side... "...Frank Zappa...

  3. #3
    woy...collokweee...weeble weeble blaaaat artoodeeto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Simi Valley, California, USA
    Posts
    1,075

    Default Re: soldering a 120V wire

    good to know, thanks! my concern really was caused by my soldering gun, even on its high setting, not melting the solder attaching a very short (soon to be lengthened) wire coming off the power switch. But then, maybe I just didn't hold it there long enough.
    Quote Originally Posted by ElevateThis View Post
    I'd mod my dog if i could.
    Quote Originally Posted by AmEv View Post
    (Steam me.... that sounds bad >_<)

  4. #4
    ATX Mental Case Killa_Ape's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Whitecourt
    Posts
    142

    Default Re: soldering a 120V wire

    I'd recommend wrapping the wire around the "terminal" you're soldering too if you can and solder it all up just to reduce the risk of the wire coming off.

  5. #5
    . Spawn-Inc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,145

    Default Re: soldering a 120V wire

    something is wrong with your soldering iron if it can barely melt thin solder. either it's broken, or not rated for 150W or 230W sure it's not 15-23 watts?

    i have a 45watt iron that will handle alot, though it can't due 4 gauge wire need a blow torch for that.
    CPU: Q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (4.2GHz max) / 4790k 4.8ghz @1.265v
    GPU: 9800GTX /GTX780 hydrocopper
    Ram: Samsung 4GB /gskill 16gb DDR3 1600
    Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32) /AsRock Extreme6
    PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt /EVGA 850 G2
    HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex4, Samsung evo 840 250GB
    LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
    Sound: Logtiech Z 5500
    CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v

  6. #6
    Yuk it up Monkey Boy! Airbozo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    In the Redwoods
    Posts
    5,270

    Default Re: soldering a 120V wire

    Quote Originally Posted by Spawn-Inc View Post
    something is wrong with your soldering iron if it can barely melt thin solder. either it's broken, or not rated for 150W or 230W sure it's not 15-23 watts?

    i have a 45watt iron that will handle alot, though it can't due 4 gauge wire need a blow torch for that.
    In order to achieve a proper soldering connection, his iron has to heat the largest surface, in this case the larger ac wire, in order for it to melt the solder and draw it into the core of strands.

    I have a butane powered iron and it never lets me down. You can even change the tips to get a torch or heat shrink blower.
    "...Dumb all over, A little ugly on the side... "...Frank Zappa...

  7. #7
    Will YOU be ready when the zombies rise? x88x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    MD, USA
    Posts
    6,334

    Default Re: soldering a 120V wire

    Quote Originally Posted by artoodeeto View Post
    good to know, thanks! my concern really was caused by my soldering gun, even on its high setting, not melting the solder attaching a very short (soon to be lengthened) wire coming off the power switch. But then, maybe I just didn't hold it there long enough.
    I've seen this happen a lot with factory made circuit boards. Something about the solder they use or a coating, or something, makes it harder to heat it up the first time.
    That we enjoy great advantages from the inventions of others, we should be glad of an opportunity to serve others by any invention of ours, and this we should do freely and generously.
    --Benjamin Franklin
    TBCS 5TB Club :: coilgun :: bench PSU :: mightyMite :: Zeus :: E15 Magna EV

  8. #8
    woy...collokweee...weeble weeble blaaaat artoodeeto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Simi Valley, California, USA
    Posts
    1,075

    Default Re: soldering a 120V wire

    good to know, thanks! I kept thinking geez....my solder gun tip is glowing red and this stuff won't melt?!?!?!
    Quote Originally Posted by ElevateThis View Post
    I'd mod my dog if i could.
    Quote Originally Posted by AmEv View Post
    (Steam me.... that sounds bad >_<)

  9. #9
    . Spawn-Inc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,145

    Default Re: soldering a 120V wire

    Quote Originally Posted by Airbozo View Post
    In order to achieve a proper soldering connection, his iron has to heat the largest surface, in this case the larger ac wire, in order for it to melt the solder and draw it into the core of strands.
    true, but most 120v power supply lines are easily solderable.
    CPU: Q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (4.2GHz max) / 4790k 4.8ghz @1.265v
    GPU: 9800GTX /GTX780 hydrocopper
    Ram: Samsung 4GB /gskill 16gb DDR3 1600
    Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32) /AsRock Extreme6
    PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt /EVGA 850 G2
    HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex4, Samsung evo 840 250GB
    LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
    Sound: Logtiech Z 5500
    CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v

  10. #10
    Yuk it up Monkey Boy! Airbozo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    In the Redwoods
    Posts
    5,270

    Default Re: soldering a 120V wire

    Quote Originally Posted by Spawn-Inc View Post
    true, but most 120v power supply lines are easily solderable.
    Correct. My main point was that the iron needed to heat the wire not the solder.
    "...Dumb all over, A little ugly on the side... "...Frank Zappa...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •