Thread: Total noob question

Default Total noob question

Hey

I've been following projects on here for over a year and have been planning my own. I bought all the stuff I want and then AHH!!!

The pc I'm modding isn't a built one, but a factory computer(gateway)

So now, when I was going to replace the case, I couldn't. The motherboard faces in the opposite direction and is specially made for the case it came in. What I mean is that it fits on the left, the cases at stores have them on the right

What are some suggestions on what to do? Should I try taking the back panel of this case and putting it on the new one?

Sorry if this is a total noob question and has been asked before, I just wasn't sure what to search for.

Thanks

Water Cooled

Default Re: Total noob question

I've seen some cases made the way you describe.
    I found this case at Silvertone - Wind tunnel at www.xoxide.com
    It supposedly puts the CPU on the bottom, where the cooler air is. The M/B is just flipped around, if that the case it should fit in a normal case. Last I knew Gateway machines were pretty industry standard.

On the other hand it could be completely proprietary and the standoffs could be in different places as well. If thats the case then you have your work cut out for you.

I would recomend a couple things
    1) post some pictures of the machine (if you can)
    2) if no pictures, then post a link to the exact model, in case there is something more we can see.
    3) if you're serious and have the time/equipment you may be able to remove the M/B with its back panel as a whole and Mod it into the new case with pop rivets or bolts.

Good luck, keep us updated.

Blatant disclaimer -> Bear in mind that almost any modding will void the warranty if its new.

Here is a pic of my current case
    (sorry for the mess but I'm moving my computer room around and so it isn't to organzied right now...)

Here is the case I want to put it into...

Thanks