Thread: Would it be hard to make a case like this one?

Overclocked

Default Would it be hard to make a case like this one?

Such as this one?
    http://images10.newegg.com/NeweggIma...145-019-01.JPG
    Would it take a long time?, What would I hold the plexiglass together with?, How could I bend the plexiglass(such as the parts for the hard drive and cd-drive cage?, Anything else I should know?

The reason I ask these questions is because im a beginner and I suspect that %99 of you have at least a little experience and tha you could possibly help me out. Thanks guys for taking your time to read this.

Woodworking unicycling bodybuilder tybrenis's Avatar

Default Re: Would it be hard to make a case like this one?

Hey,

Cases like this have indeed been made, and aren't too hard to build, with someone with experience in plastics. I just got done building my acrylic computer case, and honestly, I would NOT recomend you try this for a beginners project. If you want to check out some techniques for acrylic fabrication, you might want to check out my worklog here:

http://www.thebestcasescenario.com/f...ead.php?t=2145

I guess you could call me the acrylics expert on this forum, so I felt I had ought to be the first to answer some of your questions about this.

If you don't have the tools to undertake in this project, then I recomend that you just buy that case, because you will spend atleast 5 times as much on building the case that you would if you just bought it. However, if you enjoy working with tools and plastics, then perhaps you don't mind, if you will do future projects with it.

First off, you will want a table saw for cutting the acrylic. This really is the only efficient and accurate way of cutting acrylic, unless you have a waterjet or a laser, but even then, the acrylic can crack and burn. You will want a nice, big table saw with a blade with carbide tips, otherwise it will not work so well for acrylic.